3 Outfits Inspired by Summer Songs

June has now faded into July, and so far it has been a successful summer of lying by the pool and keeping a steady stream of music going 24/7. My “Beach Tunes” playlist is packed with the best summer songs, from easy guitar melodies to pop anthems. I want to share with you some of my favorites, but incorporate fashion into the mix, too. So here are three looks inspired by my favorite songs right now.

1. She Is Love by Parachute – Okay, every time I play this song it reminds me that I am still single, but it’s just so sweet. I love the lone guitar in the background, and lead singer Will Anderson’s voice is amazing. It’s kind of an old song, but it still makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

For the look – Be the girl-next-door with a floral sundress and some fun but neutral accessories. The dress is Topshop and the shoes are Steve  Madden.

she is love

2. What About Love by Austin Mahone – No, I do not consider myself an Austin Mahone fan, but I love the throwback to ‘N Sync in the beat. It’s the perfect dance song for summer, and I literally blast this song in my car whenever it comes on.

For the look: A ripped heart sweater pairs with the song’s bitterness toward love, while 90’s grunge extras go with the song’s old-school sound to complete the badass look. The sweater is from Wildfox, the cutoffs are Rag & Bone, and the boots are Chinese Laundry.

what about love

3. Summer Paradise by Simple Plan – What better summer song than a song about summer? I love the easiness of this song, the guitar sounds a bit folksy but still current. Rapper K’naan makes an appearance on this track and pulls the entire song together.

For the look: Because this song has a beachy vibe, channel it in your outfit with a lace crop top and an airy maxi skirt. The top is from awwdore.com, the skirt is Pull & Bear, and the shoes are from newlook.com.

summer paradise

I made all these outfits on a styling site called Polyvore.com. You can check out my Polyvore account by searching my username, mc242.

-MC

Leave a Reply

